Home Roza or fasting of ramzan ( Ramdhan) Overview of Fasts in islam

Overview of Fasts in islam

Literally Saum means ‘to abstain from something
According to the Shariah it is for an adult to abstain from eating, drinking and conducting sexual intercourse from dawn until sunset, with the explicit intention of worship.

Fasting is of four types:

a. The Obligatory Fasts: Such as fasting in the holy month of Ramadin; fasting for fulfilling a vow, and the fasting required for expiation.
b. The Desirable (Mustahab) Fasts: Such as the fasting of Prophet Dawood (pbuh)
i.e., fasting every other day; fasting on the 13th 14th and 15th of every Islamic month; fasting on Monday and Thursday;
fasting for the six days of Shawwal;
fasting on the day of ‘Arafat; fasing during the first eight days of
Dhul-Hijjah; fasasting on Ashurah; fasting during the inviolable months; and
fasting during the month of Sha’ban etc.
c. The Prohibited (Haram) Fasts: Such as a women observing a voluntary fast without her husband’s permission as he stays at home; fasting for a day prior to Ramadan whilst the commencement of Ramadan is still in doubt;
fasting on the day of ‘Eid -ul-Fitr, ‘Eidul-Adha and the days of Tashriq (the three days after the 10th of Dhul-Hijjah); the fasting of a menstruating woman and the one with post-natal bleeding.
d. The Undesirable (Makhruh) Fasts: Fasting perpetually; fasting just on Friday, or only on Saturday, etc.
* The month of Ramadh came nine times in the life of Allah’s Messenger after the fasting was’ made obligatory; because fasting was made an
obligatory duty in the second year after emigration (2 H) and the Prophet had passed away in the third month of the Islamic calendar, Rabiul-Awwal before Ramadin, of the eleventh year, after migration (11 H). During this period at least five times Ramadin was observed with twenty-nine days